California Drone Pilot Training and Part 107 Test Info
Find drone training California plus all the information that you need to get your Remote Pilot Certificate aka Drone License and fly drones commercially. The future is bright for the Unmanned Aircraft System industry as the demand for commercial drone pilots increases.
On June 21, 2016, the FAA released its long awaited Part 107 to Title 14 of the Code of Federal Regulations (14CFR). These rules allow small unmanned aircraft systems (UAS) which are under 55 lbs to be flown commercially in the National Airspace System. On August 29, 2016 the new Part 107 rules became effective and you are now required to get a Remote Pilot Certificate with a small UAS Rating in order to legally fly drones for commercial or business purposes. To get this certificate, you must PASS the FAA Part 107 Remote Pilot aeronautical knowledge test.
Click here to find an FAA Part 107 test center location.
Please note: If you already have a Part 61 pilot certificate, you may only be required to take the online training course Part 107 small Unmanned Aircraft Systems (sUAS) ALC-451. All others can use this online course as a practice test.
To apply for your Remote Pilot Certificate aka drone license after passing the Part 107 knowledge test, click through to How Do I Become A Drone Pilot for your next steps.
Part 107 Knowledge Test Study Guide
The Federal Aviation Administration (FAA) has published a free Study Guide to help prepare you to take the Remote Pilot Certificate with an sUAS Rating Airman Knowledge Test. To download your free copy, click here.
Drone Training in California:
Drone University USA
Sacramento, San Francisco, Los Angeles, San Diego, CA
Commercial UAS/Drone Pilot Certification – $1,590.
This course will not only teach you everything that you need to know to pass the Part 107 test but will also provide hands-on flight instruction from beginner to advanced training. This course is given over a weekend with two days filled with classroom, simulator and hands-on flight training. Classes limited to 16 students.
Drone University USA also offers:
Advanced UAS Cinematography Production Certification – $1,590
UAS/Drone Mapping & Modeling Certification – $1,590
UAS/Drone First Responder Certification – $1,590
UAS/Drone Precision Agriculture Certification – $990
AeroVironment Quantix UAS Certification – $990
UAS/Drone Structure Inspector Certification – $990
UAS/Drone Maintenance and Repair Certification – $490
Part 107 Remote Pilot Refresher Course – $225
Check their website for dates and locations of classes.
Corporate group training for groups of 10 students or more can be held at Drone University USA’s training center or onsite at your company. Group discounts may be available.
The same applies to private groups of 10 or more people.
Looking for drone pilot training in a different state? Check out the map on our drone pilot schools page.
San Diego is the hub of the drone industry in the U.S. Fueling this industry in California is its large defense manufacturing presence with companies like drone manufacturer, Northrup Grumman. Also, Los Angeles is home to many Hollywood firms who are utilizing UAS to film movies.
Although California has many more industries where unmanned aircraft systems could and probably will be used, there are also quite a few drone-related bills in the senate waiting for approval.
So, if you fly drones commercially in California, you need to be aware of the current laws.
For example, AB 1662 would require that any accident involving a drone and causing an injury should be treated the same way as an accident involving a moving vehicle. The operator would be required to land the drone and give the injured party their contact information and certain other information.
Part 107 Highlights:
- You must be at least 16 years old.
- You must hold a Remote Pilot Certificate with a Small UAS Rating or be supervised directly by someone who does have this certificate.
- The drone must not weigh more than 55 lbs including any attached cargo.
- The UAS is not allowed to fly higher than 400 feet above the ground.
- The maximum speed allowed for the drone is 100 mph.
- The UAS needs to always be within the pilot’s line of sight without binoculars.Operation of the UAS is limited to daylight hours and during twilight hours only if the drone has anti-collision lights.
- You are not allowed to fly the drone over people who are not directly involved in the UAS operation.
- If the FAA requests your drone for inspection or testing, it must be made available with all records that are required under the new rule.
- Any UAS operation that causes a serious injury, loss of consciousness or property damage (not to the UAS) of at least $500 must be reported within 10 days to the FAA.
You can read the Summary of Part 107.
Read the complete Small UAS Rule here.
Drone Pilot Training Center is dedicated to providing the information that you need to become a successful drone pilot. Check back for updates at https://www.dronepilottrainingcenter.com for drone pilot license info.